On October 22nd 1993, the independent investigation boards of the United States, Canada, Sweden and the Netherlands combined to form the International Transportation Safety Association (ITSA) at Apeldoorn, the Netherlands. Nowadays ITSA is composed of 14 independent investigation boards from various countries. ITSA was founded on the notion that independent non-judicial investigations of transportation accidents contribute significantly to the safety of the travelling public and the environment as well as that there is a need for an international organization, that brings together accident investigation agencies in all modes of transportation.

The mission of ITSA is therefore to improve transport safety in each member country by learning from the experiences of others.


Currently there is no news.

Email updates

Do you wish to stay informed on the work and publications of ITSA, then please subscribe here.

Extranet login (members only)